Skip to content

Poetry of Winter in Vivaldi's Four Seasons

I was back to practice of Vivaldi's Winter Concerto recently. Our weather inspired me to add this piece to my program. I believe that Vivaldi was one of the first composers who place text in his music to describe his ideas with exact sound effects.
In first movement opening we found: We shiver in the snow - and frozen introduction comes with dry trills in violin part. With dry staccato it comes: We run and stamp our feet at every step
Tremolo of thirds describes: Our teeth chatter with the cold

Second movement in the contrast is bringing us to cozy warm fireplace. This melodious theme is one of the best lyric melodies of the Vivaldi's music. We pass the day contented by fireside; outside it is raining very hard.

Then in 3rd movement Winter is back!
We carefully walk on the ice
We are afraid we may fall
By strokes and sound effects music described ice breaking, wind howling, sounds of shrieking winds again.

Vivaldi put in the coda of Winter Concerto:
Such is winter, but it has joys.
It is still sounding so contemporary and fresh to accompany our life.


No Trackbacks


Display comments as Linear | Threaded

No comments

Add Comment

Enclosing asterisks marks text as bold (*word*), underscore are made via _word_.
Standard emoticons like :-) and ;-) are converted to images.

To prevent automated Bots from commentspamming, please enter the string you see in the image below in the appropriate input box. Your comment will only be submitted if the strings match. Please ensure that your browser supports and accepts cookies, or your comment cannot be verified correctly.

Form options